ESTD 1985

College Profile

Chandrakona Vidyasagar Mahavidyalaya, affiliated to Vidyasagar University, made its humble beginning on 13th September, 1985. It is a UGC approved institution and gained recognition under the UGC Act of 1956 U/S 2(f) & I2 (B) in 1994.
In the initial days the college offered six General Degree courses namely in Bengali, English, History,Economics, Political Science, Philosophy and operated with a humble staff of six lecturers and twelve nonteaching staff under the able guidance of the Principal Lt. Shri. Biman Mahato.Lt. Shri. Satya Gopal Mukhopadhyay on behalf of Kalyanshree Trust, Lt. Shri. Ramdas Ramanujan on behalf of Chandrakona Municipality, Lt. Shri. Anukul Chandra Rai and Shri Madhusudhan Chakravorty donated land whereas the lumpsum donation by Smt. Kali Bala Dasi and the generous monetary help of all classes of people of Chandrakona I and II Block as well as a small section of people’s donations from Keshpur and Garhbeta Block helped in the construction of the college building . Under the aegis of the chief patrons that is the then, Honourable M.P. and M.L.A., and the owners of the cold storages of the nearby areas; the long standing demand for a college in Chandrakona Town finally was realised. Late Prabhash Fodikar, the then M.I.C. of Information and Culture, Govt. of West Bengal inaugurated the college in 1985.

Since its inception, the college has carved out a niche in the academic frame of the district. The college at present offers thirteen Honours and fifteen General UG courses in Arts and Science streams and hopes to offer more UG courses and open PG departments in future.