Chandrakona Vidyasagar Mahavidyalaya, affiliated to Vidyasagar University, made its humble beginning
on 16th  December, 1985. It is a UGC approved institution and gained recognition under the UGC Act of 1956
U/S 2(f) & I2 (B) in 1994.
In the initial days the college offered six General Degree courses namely in Bengali, English, History,
Economics, Political Science, Philosophy and operated with a humble staff of six lecturers and twelve nonteaching
staff under the able guidance of the Principal Lt. Shri. Biman Mahato.
Lt. Shri. Satya Gopal Mukhopadhyay on behalf of Kalyanshree Trust, Lt. Shri. Ramdas Ramanujan on behalf
of Chandrakona Municipality, Lt. Shri. Anukul Chandra Rai and Shri Madhusudhan Chakravorty donated
land whereas the lumpsum donation by Smt. Kali Bala Dasi and the generous monetary help of all classes of
people of Chandrakona I and II Block as well as a small section of people’s donations from Keshpur and
Garhbeta Block helped in the construction of the college building . Under the aegis of the chief patrons that is
the then, Honourable M.P. and M.L.A., and the owners of the cold storages of the nearby areas; the long
standing demand for a college in Chandrakona Town finally was realised. Late Prabhash Fodikar, the then
M.I.C. of Information and Culture, Govt. of West Bengal inaugurated the college in 1985.
Since its inception, the college has carved out a niche in the academic frame of the district. The college at
present offers thirteen Honours and fifteen General UG courses in Arts and Science streams and hopes to offer
more UG courses and open PG departments in future.